Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

My dear parishioners and friends of our parish community: Praised be Jesus Christ!  Now and forever! 

On Saturday afternoon, January 31st, 2009, at around 1:00 p.m., while working in church, I fell and fractured my humeris bone, from the left shoulder to my elbow.  This is a very painful fracture. 

Let me set the record straight: I was not snowboarding!  Nor did I fall on ice!  My fall was in church while doing my usual weekend tasks, my normal church routine.  Father Greg Mullaney took me immediately to the Emergency Room at Middlesex Hospital for treatment.  I am grateful to Dr. Courtney, M.D. and the staff at the Emergency Room for all of their prompt attention and care. 

On Monday, February 2nd, 2009, I saw Dr. Sean O’Donnell, M.D. and his assistant Chad Fraser, Orthopedic Surgeons.  Thank God, I don’t need surgery!  The doctors clamped my severed bones together with a “clam shell” device and with electronic therapy to the bones daily, I should heal much faster.  In the meantime, I am to take it slow and rest.  My mother, Genevieve, has been at the rectory to assist me in my daily needs. 

During my rehabilitation, various changes have had to be made to the schedule in order to keep the church running.  Until further notice, Daily Masses will be held at 9:00 AM in the chapel, and the offering made by Father Greg Mullaney.  He will also be covering any funeral Masses. 

Weekend Masses will be celebrated at the usual time and will be celebrated by Fr. Ephram Karwowski, O.F.M. Cap. of St. Pius X Friary, Middletown.  I am most grateful for their priestly assistance at this time of recovery. 

Thank you for your beautiful cards, flowers, and most of all for your prayers!  Please continue to pray for me and all who are ill this winter season.  I continue my daily Chaplet of Divine Mercy and Rosary each day at 3:00 p.m. for your needs and intentions.

                                                                      Pleasant Winter Sunday! 
                                                                                  
Blessings to you!
                                                                                             Father Jim
                                                       
  SaintJohnChurchMiddletown.com

This entry was posted in Father Jim. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

