Twenty-Eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

 

To all our parishioners and dear friends of our parish community…Praised be Jesus Christ!  Now and Forever! 

 

This is my last weekend at St. John Parish.  I have served this parish community for only three short years.  I arrived in Middletown on October 5th, 2006. 

 

From my first day as your pastor, I set out ready to work hard to improve the Church, Rectory, School, Cemetery, and grounds.  In only a brief time together, we have worked together to accomplish so much.  I am most grateful to all of you who chose to work with me and support me in my role as your Pastor. 

 

The Bishop of Norwich has decided that my work here in this parish be ended.  In a recent letter, Bishop Cote wrote, “I hereby officially appoint you to St. Matthew Parish, Tolland, Connecticut, as Parochial Vicar assisting Very Reverend James Carini, Pastor.  This appointment is effective October 15th, 2009.  I know that you will be warmly received by the parishioners of St. Matthew Parish and that you will receive their support as you continue to build up God’s Kingdom and enrich the spiritual life of God’s people in Tolland.  I ask the Lord to bless you as you continue your priestly ministry.” 

 

I am grateful to have had the opportunity to have been your Pastor here at St. John’s these past few years.  If I have done a good job here, or have failed you in some way, time will judge before Almighty God.  In this special Year of the Priest, please pray for me and all parish priests.  Thank YOU for letting me be a small part of your life and work here at St. John’s.

 

This week, St. John Parish will welcome the Very Reverend Michael Phillippino as Pastor.  This appointment is effective October 15th, 2009.  Father Michael has served the People of God in the Diocese of Norwich for the past nineteen years.  He once served as Chaplain to both Mercy and Xavier High Schools and most recently as Pastor of St. Joseph Parish, North Grosvenordale, Connecticut.  I am sure that this same generous service will characterize his pastoral labors here at St. John’s.

 

I leave you, my dear parish family in Middletown, with an old Irish blessing: “May the road rise up to meet you.  May the wind always be at your back.  May the sun shine warm upon your face, and the rains fall soft upon your fields.  And until we meet again, may God hold YOU in the palm of His hand.”

 
                                                                      Blessings on this beautiful Autumn Sunday, 
                                                                                                                        Father Jim
                                                                                    SaintJohnChurchMiddletown.com 

This entry was posted in Father Jim. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twenty-Eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

  1. 建宏 says:

    你的分享很不錯.. 謝謝 —-幫忙踩個人氣 http://lalainfo.com.tw

  2. Franklyn says:

    I am curious to find oout what blog system you’re working with?
    I’m experiencing some small security problems ith my llatest blog and I’d like to
    find sometghing more safeguarded. Do yoou have anny suggestions?

Leave a Reply

