Homily for August 15, 2010

Dear Parishioners,  

            This weekend, we celebrate the Solemnity of Mary’s Assumption, body and soul, into heaven.  As I reflected on this feast, I began reflecting on a little religious adventure I had embarked on with a friend many years ago.  

            We both had a love for St. Francis and for the Blessed Mother, and decided to found a religious order called the ‘Franciscan Brothers of Our Lady of Hope.”  We only lasted a very short time, but I do regard it as our Lord’s answer to my prayer and a necessary step for me in my spiritual journey.  

            At the time, I was praying about my vocation as to whether I should be a priest, or what.  It was at this time that I met my friend, who invited me into this spiritual adventure.  It lasted a short time, but the experience taught me at a much deeper level that Mary is indeed our mother and is always striving to point us towards Christ and towards a deeper commitment to Him and to our heavenly goal.  

            The Catechism says: CCC 966 “Finally the Immaculate Virgin, preserved free from all stain of original sin, when the course of her earthly life was finished, was taken up, body and soul, into heavenly glory and exalted by the Lord as Queen over all things, so that she might be the more fully conformed to her Son, the Lord of lords and conqueror of sin and death.”  The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin is a singular participation in her Son’s Resurrection and an anticipation of the resurrection of other Christians:  

            In giving birth you kept your virginity; in your Dormition you did not leave the world, O Mother of God, but were joined to the source of Life.  You conceived the living God and, by your prayers, will deliver our souls from death.  

            The Solemnity of Mary’s Assumption strengthens our hope, sisters and brothers, and encourages us to seek our own sanctification as we strive to be faithful to the duties of our state of life.  She also helps us discover our vocation, and as the Lord constantly called her to repeat her “Yes” which brought her to the foot of the cross, so she will help us continue to renew our “YES” to the call we  have received, and help us deepen our faith and hope in eternal life so that with her we can say “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.”  

            Happy Feast Day, everyone!  

            Father Mike

SaintJohnChurchMiddletown.com

This entry was posted in Father Mike. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

