Divine Mercy Sunday Message

WeeklyMessageMay 1, 2011
Divine Mercy Sunday
Fr. Michael Phillippino

Happy Easter to all of you! This Sunday is Divine Mercy Sunday, a feast day that celebrates the great mercy of God, a feast day that reminds us that God’s forgiveness is available to us. It is on the morning of the resurrection when Christ appears to his disciples and tells them to preach repentance for the forgiveness of sins (Luke 24:47). In our gospel today, Jesus appears to his disciples and gives them and their successors the charism to forgive sins as he says, “Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained.” It is a grace God gives to his church for our salvation, that we may grow in closer union with Christ.

So again this Sunday, at 1:00 PM, I will be available for confession in the church. At 2:00 PM, I will expose the Blessed Sacrament, and at 3:00 PM we will pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet and have Benediction. I invite you all to come.

Here is a short examination of conscience that I reflect on from time to time. It is done with reflection on the three theological virtues: faith, hope, and love.

Do I make an honest effort to grow in the virtue of faith by daily reflection on the mysteries of the faith?

Do I tempt God by relying on my own strength to cope with the trials in my life?

Do I invite faithlessness by unnecessarily entertaining opinions that oppose or belittle
what I know are the truths of the Catholic faith?

Have I feared the loss of human respect more than God in witnessing to my faith?

Do I make a serious effort to rightly form my conscience and to resolve my conflicts
between my conscience and the Faith of the Church?

Do I defend my faith, prudently and charitably, when someone says something contrary to
what I know is to be believed?

Do I say an act of hope when I find myself getting discouraged?

Do I violate the virtue of hope by my attachment to things of the world?

Am I confident that with God’s grace I will be saved?

Do I dwell in worry about my past or anxiety about my future and thus weaken my hope in God’s mercy and love?

Are my important and deliberate actions preceded by prayer for divine help?

Do I believe more readily in bad news than the Good News?

Do I tell God I love him when I experience something I naturally dislike?

Have I failed in charity by speaking unkindly about others?

Have I been stubborn in asserting my own will?

How thoughtful have I been today in doing someone a favor?

Have I preferred my moodiness to showing God’s love for others?

Do I control uncharitable thoughts as soon as they arise in my mind?

Did I pray for others today?

Do I control my emotions when others irritate me?

Have I violated charity by reducing person to mere objects: sexual objects or pawns of my
ambition?

Have I violated charity by my own irreverence or immodesty?

Do I seek to grow in the knowledge of my Catholic Faith that I may love God with all my
mind?

Do I seek to grow in the Catholic sacramental life that I may love God with all my soul?

Do I seek to grow in the life of prayer that I may love God with all my heart?

Do I seek to grow in fidelity to Catholic moral life that I may love God with all my strength?

SaintJohnChurchMiddletown.com

                                                            
Saint John Church Middletown, CT

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

